Seafair Royalty
Facebook Twitter Instagram
Home > About Us > Seafair Royalty

Seafair Royalty

Seafair Royalty has reigned over the festival and represented the city of Seattle since 1950. For the first five decades, Seafair Royalty consisted of King Neptune and his Prime Minister, and the Seafair Queen (renamed Miss Seafair in 1972) whose roles included greeting visiting dignitaries, participating in ceremonial activities throughout the City, and encouraging all to take part in Seafair festivities.

In 2000, the Royalty Program was updated to crown one man as King Neptune and one woman as Queen Alcyone. This outstanding couple is chosen based on their philanthropic contributions to the Puget Sound region and ability to inspire the communities in which they live.

Throughout the summer, Seafair Royalty, including Miss Seafair, participate in festival events and activities to celebrate the tradition of Seafair and the community spirit of greater Seattle. They also perform several knighting ceremonies recognizing outstanding citizens in the Seattle area.

Click here to see the list of past Seafair Royalty.

Explore the history of Seafair Royalty

Andrea Diaz, Miss Seafair 2019

The 2019 Miss Seafair Andrea Diaz was born in Puerto Rico but grew up in Olympia, WA. She is currently a double major in criminal justice with an emphasis in social justice, and cultural studies at Seattle Pacific University. She is a Catalyst Education programmer and leads SPU’s quarterly discussion series, where they discuss race, privilege, and reconciliation.

For a full list of the past Miss Seafairs, click here.

For more information contact:

Phone: (206) 728-0123


2019 Seafair Royalty


King Neptune is an important part of Seafair as it recognizes the people that help to make Seattle great. Past kings include Sonics’ great Slick Watts and past Seahawks Quarterback Warren Moon.This year, Richard Gray is Seafair’s King Neptune. As an award-winning actor and composer, Rich is very involved in the theater scene in Seattle and has performed in many Seattle-based theaters including the 5th Avenue Theater, the ACT, the Seattle Children’s Theater, and ArtsWest.


The Seafair Queen Alcyone has always been a woman of distinction that has contributed greatly to the Seattle community. Past queens have included former First Lady of WA Mona Locke and former WA State Governor Christine Gregoire. Our current Queen Alcyone, Kim Holcomb, has a degree in political science from University of California, Riverside, and a Master’s degree in broadcast journalism from Boston University. Kim has been a KING TV Evening entertainment reporter for over 10 years, covering everything from the Seahawks’ victory parade to Seattle’s Tomato Battle. Kim is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association, she has won six Regional Emmy Awards, and won an Edward R Murrow Award for writing.

Parade Grand Marshals

1 of 9
The Alaska Airlines Seafair Torchlight Parade is the largest nighttime parade in the Northwest, drawing over 300,000 on-site spectators and an additional 700,000 television viewers. Precision drill teams, community floats, regional and international bands, equestrian units, giant helium balloons, comical clowns and swashbuckling pirates all come together for one magical night in downtown Seattle to celebrate true family and community entertainment.

For 2019, we are thrilled that Mr. Tod Leiweke, CEO and Team president for Seattle's new NHL hockey team, will be leading our Alaska Airlines Torchlight Parade on Saturday, July 27.

Each year Seafair selects a member of the community to be the Parade Grand Marshal. This person is chosen based on their connection to Seattle, community interest and celebrity status. Some of Seafair’s first Grand Marshals included Bob Hope & Bing Crosby (1958), Richard Nixon (1960) and Joan Crawford & Leonard Nimoy (1968).


2019 - Tod Leiweke
2018 - Jordan Morris
2017 - Billy Burke & James Wolk
2016 - Anna Faris
2015 - Felix Hernandez & Robinson Cano
2014 - Clint Dempsey & DeAndre Yedlin
2013 - Gary Payton
2012 - Duff McKagan
2011 - Drew Carey
2010 - Apolo Ohno
2009 - Mike Holmgren & Pat O'Day
2008 - Sig Hansen
2007 - Dave Niehaus
2006 - Warren Moon & Dan Wilson
2005 - Darth Vader
2004 - Elvis
2003 - Roy Butch Marlin "The Original Blue Angel"
2002 - Apolo Ohno
2000 - Edgar Martinez
1999 - Barbara Curtis Wall, the first Seafair Queen (1950)
1998 - John Stanford
1997 - Bill Nye “The Science Guy”
1996 - Kate Mulgrew
1995 - Jim Lambright
1994 - Nolan Ryan
1990 - Jane Fonda & Ted Turner
Back to